Gala Graphic

Gala Photo Booth 1

Gala Photo Booth 2

Gala Photo Booth 3





The Annual Alvin ISD Education Foundation Gala, 80s Gala Remix, was held Saturday, September 9 at South Shore Harbor Resort.  The event raised funds for the students, staff, and innovative programs that the Foundation supports, thanks to the generosity of the over 300 guests, sponsors, and volunteers.

"Celebrity Waiters" added to the fun atmosphere with their 80s characters, costumes, decorations, and antics. Alvin Community College Vice President of Development and Outreach Wendy Del Bello served as the master of ceremonies and Dr. Kris Schoeffler was the auctioneer for the evening. Generous sponsors made the event possible. The Diamond sponsor was Huckabee. Platinum sponsors were HEB, ISC, PBK, Perdue Brandon Fielder Collins & Mott, LLP, and Stantec. Gold Sponsors were Gulf Coast Educators Federal Credit Union, Jackson Walker, and Pfluger. Silver sponsors were GAMMA Construction, GPD Group, Imagine Learning, Alvin Skate & Party, State Senator Mayes Middleton, Texas Advantage Community Bank, Lincoln Financial Group, and Walsh Gallegos. The Dessert Sponsor was First State Bank, the Social Hour sponsor was ACU of Texas, the Dinner Wine Sponsor was United Healthcare, the Photography sponsor was Shadow Creek High School Off Broadway Theatre fall play: Moon Over Buffalo, and the Photo Booth sponsor was Foodservice Design Professionals.

Table sponsors were Alvin Community College, Alvin Sunrise Rotary Club, AMOCO Federal Credit Union, ATTI Consulting & Management/Goosehead Insurance, Crew & Associates, Inc., Dr. Jim & Mary Jane Crumm, Gallagher, Hometown Bank of Alvin, John and Tiffany Wennerstrom, Memorial Hermann, The Plummer Family, The Riley Family, Rogers, Morris and Grover, LLP, TDEC, Inc. Electrical Contractors, Terracon, and wEw Educational Consulting and Associates, LLC.

“The gala is always a fun event because of our Celebrity Waiters who work hard to serve and entertain our guests,” said Sheila Olson, the Foundation’s executive director. "Thanks to everyone who made the event such a success. We are truly blessed to have the support of so many in our community and are excited about all that we will be able to do with the proceeds from the gala," said Lorilyn Wynn, president of the foundation board.

Special thanks to the waiters who created a fun event for their table guests with their costumes and themes. The waiters “worked” for tips that were all designated for the Alvin ISD STEM Bus. The waiters were Alvin ISD School Board Trustee David Selsky and former Trustee Vivian Scheibel, Caffey Jr. High Principal Krystal Hawks with her Assistant Principals Teasha Brown and Mark McGlothlin, Nichols-Mock Elementary Principal Sandy Holdsclaw and her Assistant Principal Jackee Butteris, Mark Twain Elementary Assistant Principal Jacob Chavarria, and E. C. Mason Elementary Principal Monique Gadson, Mark Twain Elementary Principal Bridget Landry and Alvin Elementary Principal Lori Gonzalez. Also, Passmore Elementary Principal Shannon Hennigan and Assistant Principal Laura Wilson, York Elementary Principal Brooke Chang and her Assistant Principal Justine Blackwell, Meridiana Elementary Assistant Principal Kharla Boyce and Counselor Lauren Holmes, and Shirley Brothers Elementary Principal Jade Stenger along with Director of Professional Learning Victoria Kwan. Other table waiters were Rodeo Palms Jr. High Principal Jamie Baldwin, Scot Bryant real estate agent with Reyes Realty Group and Alvin ISD Vision teacher Michael Anne Bryant, Assistant Fine Arts Director Bobby Mowles and his wife Jill Mowles Assistant Principal at Shirley Brothers Elementary, Iowa Colony High School Assistant Principals Charles Moore and Araceli Altamirano, Harby Jr. High Assistant Principal Randy Teal, Alvin Parks & Rec coordinator Michelle Nesrsta and husband Mike Nesrsta, owner of Gill’s Small Engine Repair, Kim Dugas with Gotcha Covered Insurance and Guiding Our Youth, Alvin High School Associate Principal Dr. Aaron Webb and Testing Coordinator Dr. Roger Cardona, Aimee Shelton, Ellie Shelton, Manvel Jr. High Principal Rick Scott and Assistant Principal Nathan Martinez, Nolan Ryan Jr. High Assistant Principal Stephen Gilmore with Math Instructor Mileke Russaw, Chrissy Volek, Sarah Smiley, Florinda Davis, and Monica Flores.