Alvin ISD Teacher Named Finalist for 2019 H-E-B Excellence in Education Award


Caption: Alvin ISD Assistant Superintendent Brent Shaw, Alvin ISD Interim Superintendent Daniel Combs, Alvin ISD Associate Superintendent Lisa Butler, Alvin ISD Director of Human Resources Syreeta Presley, teacher Heather Villaloboz, H-E-Buddy, EC Mason Principal Dixie Jones, Alvin ISD Trustee Tiffany Wennerstrom, Alvin ISD Associate Superintendent Carol Nelson, Alvin ISD Assistant Superintendent Rory Gesch join in surprising Ms. Villaloboz as a 2019 H-E-B Excellence in Education Awards finalist. Villaloboz, an EC Mason Elementary teacher, earned $1,000 for herself and $1,000 for EC Mason Elementary.


EC Mason Elementary teacher Heather Villaloboz was among seven Houston-area educators named finalists for the 2019 H-E-B Excellence in Education Awards, an initiative that highlights them as some of the best teachers in Texas.


Villaloboz, who teaches 4thgrade English/Language Arts, learned of her selection during a surprise visit by H-E-B representatives to her classroom Feb. 20. She received a check for $1,000 for herself, while another $1,000 check will go to the campus.


“I am so excited to receive this award and represent Alvin ISD. I have lived the past 18 years of my life pouring my heart into teaching and it is amazing to have my efforts recognized at the state level,” said Villaloboz. “I can’t even explain the joy that filled my heart to have my students, my team, and district administrators cheer on my accomplishment. I am able to do my job because of those people that surround me with constant support.”


 H-E-B’s Excellence in Education is the largest monetary awards program for education in Texas and among the largest in the nation.


All finalists are invited to Austin on May 4-5 to compete on a statewide level for larger cash prizes totaling $430,000.


The Excellence in Education Awards program began in 2002 in cooperation with the Texas Association of School Administrators as a positive way to support public education in Texas and highlights and celebrates best practices and creativity from educators.